The Team

Editorial Staff

Emily Wurst – Editor-in-Chief

Emily is a senior studying Economics and Political Science. Emily’s primary foreign policy interests lie in China and the European Union, specifically in Italy. On campus, she is involved in the Alexander Hamilton Society as well as Women in Economics, and volunteers in the Lakeshore Nature Preserve. In her free time, Emily likes to cook, tend to her many plants, and be outside as much as possible.

Emily Janicik – Deputy Editor-in-Chief

Emily is a junior studying Economics and German. This semester she is studying abroad at the Vienna University of Economics and Business! She has a strong interest in European politics and policy, specifically with a focus on Germany and Austria. On campus, Emily is a part of Wisconsin Exploration Club, as well as working as a tutor for the Wisconsin Athletic Department and the PEOPLE Program. In her free time, Emily enjoys finding new coffee shops, reading memoirs, and spending time with friends.

Ryan Thiele – Deputy Editor-in-Chief

Ryan Thiele is a sophomore majoring in Political Science, Legal Studies and History with certificates in Criminal Justice and Public Policy. He is primarily interested in foreign legal systems and international alliances, primarily in Europe and the Americas. On campus Ryan works for the Tommy G. Thompson Center for Public Leadership and is Networking Coordinator for the Sifting and Winnowing Foundation, while off campus he is an officer of Wisconsin DeMolay, an international youth group for leadership development. In his free time, Ryan likes to read, play guitar and bass, and watch the Milwaukee Bucks.

Ryan Bergal – Editor
Ryan is a senior studying International Studies and Economics. Ryan’s primary areas of interest in global affairs are the politics of the European Union, and its member states. Outside of the WIRe, he is also involved in UW’s Model United Nations Team, the Alexander Hamilton Society, and Wisconsin Union Directorate. He also enjoys finding new music and works to finance his excessive coffee consumption habits.

Caitlin Attaway – Editor

Caitlin is a senior majoring in Political Science and History with an African Studies certificate. She has an interest in the politics of post-colonial states in the East African region and is steadily attempting to learn Swahili. On campus, Caitlin has spent time working for the Mordgride Center where she helps with voter registration and education during the Fall 2018 midterms. In her community, Caitlin has interned for State Representative Lisa Subeck and the 2018 Democratic candidate for Wisconsin Attorney General, Josh Kaul.

Meghan Howard – Editor

Meghan Howard is a junior studying Economics and International Studies. She is interested in the international political economy, equitable education, as well as conflict-resolution studies. She is also involved with Project 1808 on campus and works for the Rec Sports department. In her free time, she enjoys reading, watching movies, and golfing.

Ashley Levi – Editor

Ashley Levi is a junior majoring in International Studies and Political Science with a certificate in European Studies. She has a specific interest in global security and its implications for local communities involved. Outside of the WIRe, she works as an editing intern through the Student Federal Service for the Veteran Affairs blog and is involved in philanthropy roles within her sorority. In her free time, Ashley enjoys reading, cooking, painting, and online shopping.

Sam Buisman – Editor

Michael Sauer – Editor

Michael is a junior studying Political Science and Economics, while pursuing certificates in East Asia studies, South Asia studies, and Public Affairs. On campus, he holds leadership positions on the AEI Executive Council, Alexander Hamilton Society, and Journal of Undergraduate International Studies. Michael is interested in the resourceful application of American grand strategy around the world.

Jadalyn Eagens – Editor

Current Writers

Ariana King Daniel Zaydman Cooper Stewart
Ryan Thiele Abby Ivancevich Pooja Gundimeda
Simon Fischer Emery Jochnau Emily Janicik
Michael Warren Lauren Hutson Emily Wurst
Chandrea Baster Sophia Halverson Yusuf Ergul
Michael Sauer Aditi Poduri Richard Horn
Molly Kehoe Riley Fink
McKenna Ross Samuel Brown
Michael DeLeers Dana Craig
Jadalyn Eagens Cormac O’Harrow
Sourish Kundu Juilin Lu
Julie Schneiberg Allison Lee
Joe McInerney Harry Colvin
Lydia Nyachieo Jake Goldsmith
Skylar Nafziger Zach Lipecki